Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
DC FieldValue
dc.titleA comparative study of nine national quality awards
dc.contributor.authorPuay, S.H.
dc.contributor.authorTan, K.C.
dc.contributor.authorXie, M.
dc.contributor.authorGoh, T.N.
dc.identifier.citationPuay, S.H.,Tan, K.C.,Xie, M.,Goh, T.N. (1998). A comparative study of nine national quality awards. TQM Magazine 10 (1) : 30-39. ScholarBank@NUS Repository.
dc.description.abstractEver since the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award (MBNQA) was established in 1987, many other countries have developed their own version of a national quality award (NQA). These NQAs tend to follow the general framework of the MBNQA with different emphases on criteria items such as leadership, customer focus, resource management and impact on society. This paper is a comparative study of nine major national quality awards (three European, two North American, three Asia Pacific and one South American). It is instructive to note the differences in criteria item emphasis based on a country's stage of economic development. Multinational companies may find it very useful when their overseas subsidiaries apply for the local NQA following the success of their home companies. Countries that have yet to develop an NQA stand to gain from the comparative information gathered.
dc.contributor.departmentINDUSTRIAL & SYSTEMS ENGINEERING
dc.description.sourcetitleTQM Magazine
Appears in Collections:Staff Publications

Show simple item record
Files in This Item:
There are no files associated with this item.

Google ScholarTM


Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.